Brahms: String Quintets — Hyperion Records

Brahms: String Quintets — Hyperion RecordsApril 2014 release

Here the Takacs Quartet collaborates with Britain's greatest living viola player, Lawrence Power, who has proved himself a remarkable chamber musician. "It was in the G major string quartet..that the Takacs players again hit special heights, achieving near-miracles of balance and interplay, with Geraldine Walther and guest Lawrence Power delivering a masterclass of contrasting by complimentary viola playing.

– London Guardian

Takács Quartet, Lawrence Power (viola)
String Quintet No 1 in F major Op 88 [26'47]
String Quintet No 2 in G major Op 111 [30'09]
Hyperion CDA67900

Link to information and sound clips ›


© 2020 Takács Quartet