"Beethoven For A Later Age – The Journey Of A String Quartet"

The Takács Quartet's first violinist, Edward Dusinberre, has written a book, "Beethoven for a Later Age - the Journey of a String Quartet". It was published in 2016 by Faber in the U.K. and by the University of Chicago Press in the U.S. to strong reviews.

Edward Dusinberre introduces Beethoven for a Later Age from George Miller on Vimeo.

THE ECONOMIST – February 6, 2016
"'Mr Dusinberre is the lead violinist of the Takacs Quartet, one of the
world’s most highly regarded string ensembles, and he has written a fascinating book about the musical life of this group of players. Interwoven with that is the story of Beethoven’s 16 string quartets..."

Read the complete review on The Economist › 

THE FINANCIAL TIMES – January 22, 2016
"All this is in Edward Dusinberre’s deceptively compact book. But his main theme lies elsewhere: at the tender age of 25, Dusinberre was hired fresh out of college to take over as first violin of the Takács Quartet, an international ensemble at the top of its game." – Richard Fairman

Read the complete review on The Financial Times ›

THE TELEGRAPH – January 14, 2016
"In this brief but beguiling book, Edward Dusinberre ... takes us inside the complexity of [Beethoven's] masterpieces - elucidating the history of their creation and explaining, with the minimum of technicality, the challenges they pose to performers and audience .... The glimpse Dusinberre gives us of their working is fascinating ..." – Rupert Christiansen

Read the complete review on The Telegraph ›


© 2018 Takács Quartet